#14 – Random4, or more things I wonder about

Some things you know, some things you don’t know, some things you think you know, some things you know you don’t know, some things you don’t know you don’t know.

***
image

These are not all, but these are many of the words I’ve written

***

fight club
This is how I see the world with too many words stuck in my head

***

I make no promises that I will not repeat myself from previous “random” posts.

151.  I do not like strawberries but really like strawberry flavor.

152.  I do not speak any other languages, even after 8 years of Spanish class.  Do other languages have so many words that sound the same?  To, two, too.  There, their, they’re.  Your, you’re.  Great, grate.  Right, write.  By, buy, bye.  Minute, minute.  Accept, except.  Know, no.  Why not just make up different words?  Did they run out?

153.  There’s like two or three countries, including the US, that do not use the metric system.  Why is that?  How do you even translate miles into kilometers?  Another case for American exceptionalism?

154.  I use curse words as easily as I breathe and almost no word is out of bounds.  Except the word piss.  It’s too crass.  Pissed off is fine.

155.  My favorite day of the week is Wednesday.

156.  My favorite time of the day is the morning, especially when it’s still dark out.

157.  When I was younger my brother and I watched the hell out of professional wrestling.  I remember being disappointed when I realized it was not real.  I cheered for Hulk Hogan but secretly Andre the Giant was my favorite.  I liked Randy “Macho Man” Savage’s Slim Jim commercials.  Oh yeah!image

158.  Science fiction television shows, movies and books usually portray alien races as homogenous.  Based on Earth, though, I think it’s presumptuous to assume that an entire planet would have beings that all look exactly the same and speak the same language.

159.  I understand that we need money.  But sometimes it perplexes me that a piece of paper can determine a person’s worth and determine their destiny.  Someone has more paper than someone else and that makes them a better person?

160.  You’re own reality is the only reality.

161.  Sometimes I wonder if when I close my eyes everything disappears.  Or if anything even exists before and after I perceive it.  How do you know that when you turn a corner everything behind you doesn’t instantly disappear?  How can you disprove that?  If a tree falls in the woods and no one is there to hear it…

162.  Don’t you think that through the eyes of the British that the American colonists were a bunch of treasonous terrorists?

163.  I am a conscientious driver.  I think I realized the other day that I may not be a good driver.  My mind wanders too much and sometimes I have arrived at my destination without completely recalling how I got there. (Side note – I got in a car accident on the very day I received my drivers license.   I probably had it for 2 hours.  Also, I got into a car accident on the very first date I had with my wife.  The first one may or may not have been my fault.  The second one definitely was.)

164.  How many car accidents have you been in?  I’ve been in 4.  Is that a lot?  What’s the average?

165.  My shoes will not stay tied.  I feel like they stayed tied when I was younger.  One time at work I stepped on my shoelace getting up from my desk and fell backwards.  It was one of the defining moments of my working career.  Shoelaces are a big problem in my life and I wear a lot of shoes that don’t have them.  I should probably look into works shoes that stay on with Velcro.

166.  Shockingly, I was curious about something the other day.  I looked up how far it is from the ground to outer space.  How far do you think it is?

167.  Don’t you sometimes feel like you are either the only sane person in an insane world or the only insane person in a sane world?

168.  I play music super loud when no one else is around, especially in the car.  But when I have to stop at a red light I turn it down because I don’t want to be that guy.

169.  It’s about 90-100 miles or 145-161 kilometers from the ground straight up to outer space.  If they could build an inclined road that far up you could drive to space in like two hours max.  I thought it would be a lot higher than that!

170.  I’ve recently decided I don’t like convertible cars.  They don’t seem very practical and I think the roof looks stupid.  Apologizes if you own one – I’m not calling you stupid I’m calling your car stupid.

171.  Aren’t there some turtles and/or tortoises that live for a super long time?   Like hundred(s) of years?  How is that even possible?  Dogs and cats live for what, 15 years but turtles get to live forever?  Why aren’t we getting in on some turtle DNA longevity potion or something?

172.  If you live in an apartment or house that you did not have built or you were not the original owner of, do you ever wonder how many people may have died in your house?  If you don’t, are you now?

173.  What if you didn’t have to sleep?  What would you do?  Do you think you’d visit friends and have all these hobbies?  Or would you just end up super bored?

174.  If I were ever to form a band we would be called The Whispering Eyes.  You heard me.

175.  If I won a lottery or somehow became independently wealthy I’d want to hope I’d be very altruistic and charitable.  I know myself well enough to know that I probably would not be.  I do have some great plans, though, and they include tattoos (including a prominent neck tattoo), pets (a bunch of cats for my daughter, at least one goat, and a 009-funny-animal-gifs-jumping-goat[1]Chihuahua for me that I could carry around in a bag or in my pocket), a bunch of cars (including all kinds of small cars like smart cars, a Volkswagen,  whatever Matt Damon was driving in the first Born Identity like a mini-Cooper or whatever.  Also, a Humvee or maybe a retrofitted tank that I could drive on the road.  At least one of the cars would be fitted with the old-time car horns.  Plus, a moped type vehicle like a Vespa that I could put a basket on and drive the Chihuahua around in.  I think the dogs name would be Kiwi, like a dog my wife and I saw in a store in Mexico once that I wanted to steal) and all kinds of crazy hairstyles (including mohawks, dying, stripes, rattails, mullets, whatever.)  I’d have my wife and daughter buy/build any kind of house anywhere they would like but I’m pretty sure I’d live in a tiny house in the yard with Kiwi.

Kiwi
The real Kiwi

I’d also host a party where I would burn all of my suits, dress shirts and pants, khakis, ties, dress shoes and black socks.  You would all be invited.

 

176.  There is nothing in #175 that I am kidding about.

177.  I like coffee.  I drink it in the morning to help me wake up and start my day.  The longer I drink it during the day, though, the more tired I get.

178.  A guy at work said something was “rock-ass solid” the other day.  I liked it and told him that I was going to steal it as my new motto.  From now on, everything is Rock-Ass Solid.

179.  The Mayfair Mall in Wauwatosa, Wisconsin is the most ethically diverse place you can go anywhere in Southeastern Wisconsin, which is not otherwise known for its diversity.  I could sit at the mall and watch people walk by all day, especially right outside the Apple store.

180.  I think a good movie would be showing what Forrest Gump did in between the times he was running across the country.  Seems like he must have gotten into all kinds of mischief.image

181.  Polka dots are those dots on clothing or whatever.  I feel like people pronounce those as “pok-a” dots, or at least I do.  Polka is also a kind of dance, and most people pronounce the “l” in polka.  I’m not really sure what a polka dot or a polka dance is and how they are related.

182.  We’ve come to accept a certain amount of “traveling” in NBA professional basketball and I don’t really like it but it is what it is.  They used to call traveling all the time in college basketball but they don’t seem to as much anymore.  I’m not sure why but that bothers me.

183.  The fact is that unless you catch me off guard chances are I’ve practiced what I am going to say to you multiple times in my head before I say it to you, regardless of who you are.

184.  I’ve been listening to a lot of Pandora radio lately.  Sometimes I put on the “Grunge” station.  Sometimes on their “Grunge” station a Metallica (??) song will come on.  At those moments I feel like I’ve missed something entirely, something very important.

185.  I’ve decided to use the word ‘literally’ more, and to use it when referring to things figuratively.

186.  Any temperature over about 65 degrees F or 18 degrees C starts to be too hot for me.

187.  I’m not saying I don’t like sunny days.  I do like when it rains, though, especially a slow drizzly rain on a warm spring day.

188.  Why do 3 of the seasons have one name but one of them have two?  Why don’t we call Spring ‘Grow’ or Summer “Hot” or Winter “Snow’?

189.  Does MTV even exist anymore?  What shows do they show?  Does Kurt Loder still do the news?  I know I could watch any music video I wanted to online these days, but if MTV still showed videos all day I think I would watch.

190.  I’m disappointed in sports figures who have used steroids or other performance enhancing drugs.  I’m fairly confident, though, that if there was enough money on the table for me to gain by taking them I would take them too.

191.  We all have sold out at least a little bit, haven’t we?

192.  What are the rules for flying the American Flag at half-mast when someone or someones have died?  Who decides?  How long?  I’m sure there are rules.

193.  In the book and movie “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory” Willy Wonka tells the children that the “strawberries taste like strawberries.  The snozzberries taste like snozzberries.”  All of the guests try the edible wallpaper.  It has only been within the past year that I learned what a “snozzberry” is and I have not been able to see the movie in the same way ever since.2ns5r0y[1]

194.  I think you can admire or even “worship” brave and heroic actions.  But if you have idols or hero worship of a person you will invariably be disappointed.

195.  I think the US prides itself on the idea of individualism, but at the end of the day we want everyone to be the same.

196.  Sometimes I think we’d all be better off if we were the same.  The problem would be whose sameness would we pick to be?

197.  In Star Wars, A New Hope the Empire blows up Princess Leia’s home planet of Alderaan as a way of getting her to reveal where the rebel base was located and to test out their new Death Star.  So Princess Leia is one of the, if not the sole survivor of an entire plant and people.  Imagine if you were the last person alive after a fascist space regime blew up the Earth.  Anyone you ever knew from your relatives to your 1st grade teacher to the dude that bags your groceries at the store would have died.  All history and culture and animal species unique to Earth would be gone in an instant.  Leia seems sad for a moment.  Cut to a few scenes later when Han and Luke are rescuing her and she’s cracking wise with both of them and is pretty feisty for the rest of the movie and the rest of the series.  I feel tumblr_m69afkg3mu1qbw7q9o1_r1_250[1]like the blowing up of your home planet would break a person entirely.  At the very least it would upset them a little more.  Maybe it’s just me, though.

198.  You know a lot of stuff and are probably right a lot of the time.  But if you think you are right all of the time you are kind of an asshole.

199.  Listen.  This whole Donald Trump thing is definitely something, disturbing and revealing.  I’m not 100% sure it’s real, though.  Maybe Donald Trump is the greatest imageperformance artist of all time and we’re being punked.  If so I say bravo, Mr. Trump, bravo.

200.  For reasons, I would now like to be referred to as Mr. Awesome.  Literally.

 

 

 

#15 – Byron4, or Hybrid Theory

5 thoughts on “#14 – Random4, or more things I wonder about”

  1. Love this Aaron. It was like a good movie – I laughed out loud, I said “what”?, I pondered, I agreed, I disagreed, I was incredulous, (no crying tho), I smiled, it inspired me, and I was amazed!
    My random responses:
    Shouldn’t we call you “Mr. Rock-Ass Solid”? Please don’t turn into the creepy guy with the chihuahua on the “Good Wife”!
    Shout out to PBS cuz I recently learned the distance from earth to outer space on a program they produced. I was surprised too! But I wish you didn’t give the answer till next “edition”. Let the people do some research!
    YES to #160 AND 162.
    Some turtles do live hundreds of years and they definitely ARE tracking to “crack the code”.
    183- interesting – want more on that one!
    197- I agree
    I like your (future) band’s name. (That’s a challenge to you!)
    199-I’ve had same thought but don’t really applaud it. It’s too evil even if a great performance.
    Thanks for sharing with us, Mr Awesome (literally).

Leave a Reply

