#29 – Aleppo

I know there’s a lot going on.  I know that there’s fatigue has set in on all the issues and problems.

I know you’re aware of Aleppo, at least in passing.  I know it’s in your Facebook feed, and on the news.

I know it snowed and your sports team played today and you have other things on your mind.

Its all hard to watch. Sometimes I don’t want to.  And what can you do about it?  What can I do about it?  Seriously, I’m asking.  Donate, I guess.  Write this I guess.  What of any consequence?

I know we are worried about who comes into the country.  I know we’re worried about terrorists and terrorism and we should be and I get it.

I know we’ve become afraid of refugees, and that refugee is now a code word.

Here’s some of them that we don’t want to let in, though.  Here’s some of the ones we want to stop from coming, at least until we “figure out what’s going on.”

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m not trying to make light of an issue.  We don’t want terrorists in our country.  But the kid holding his dead brother in the clip below.  I think that would help serve to radicalize me.  I’d be mad at the government, and any government that helped, and any that didn’t help.

Maybe if we helped they’d still turn on us.  Or maybe they’d be grateful.  I don’t know.  I guess it’s complicated with Russia involved, especially with our apparent newfound alliance with them.  I mean, we’re cool with Russia now, right?

A few weeks ago I watched this documentary on the White Helmets in Aleppo.  Maybe you’ve heard about them.  Maybe not.  Maybe some of them have ties to the bad guys, maybe not.  It’s a good watch.  I wonder, after Aleppo and all of Syria finally falls, who they will fight for next?  Who will they blame?

I guess regardless of what anyone can do it’s hard to watch it all going down. It’s all over Twitter and all the social media.  They’re begging for help.

I wonder.  What if Aleppo was Paris, though?  Or London?  New York or Chicago?  Or your city, wherever you are right now?  Where are all the social media profiles that say “Pray for Aleppo” like we did for all the other cities?
I’m not saying you have to care.  You don’t.  I do and I can’t do anything about it and it’s tearing me up.

This kid has been in the news.  He’s not even crying.  They’re not even crying anymore.

 

Remember this kid from awhile ago?  His family was trying to get out of Syria.  

The world paused, then shrugged.

Listen, I know there’s a lot of bad stuff in the world and we can’t stop all of it.  Why is Aleppo more important than anywhere else?  It’s not.  Except.  The Syrian government has the backing of Russia.  And now they’re trying to tell you that Russia, maybe they’re not so bad?  Russia.  Putin.

How can you not see it?

I just wanted to leave you with one last thing.  The US eventually closed down the borders during WWII because we worried about spies and saboteurs.  Not only, but Anne Frank too.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/worldviews/wp/2015/11/24/anne-frank-and-her-family-were-also-denied-entry-as-refugees-to-the-u-s/

And round and around it goes.

3 thoughts on “#29 – Aleppo

  1. The tears don’t stop and I feel powerless. When will it stop; when will we learn. We must open our arms to those who seek refuge.

  2. Aaron , I’m speechless. Yes. I’ve heard about it all, but seeing those videos!!!!! And at least some, if not most, of the kids will likely have permanent emotional deficits due to going through that. Thanks for posting and what can be done? Isn’t there more one can do?

Leave a Reply

