#34 – Judge not…

“…that ye be not judged.”

It’s been 5 days since the inauguration and things are upside down.  Seems like there is trouble ahead.  It’s going to be a long 4 years.

What’s done is done though.  He’s President.

I don’t understand a lot of things.  I don’t purport to be a smart man.

Something I will never understand is how some people who call themselves Christians vote the way they do.

That’s not to label all Christians.  But I do feel like a larger percentage of people who voted for the President call themselves Christians.

I’m not against religion.  Believe what you like.  Whatever helps you get through the day.

I don’t believe in God.  I don’t believe that a person named Jesus was a real person who walked the Earth.  I think it’s and he are made up.

But that is of no consequence.  I’m no Biblical scholar.  I’m sure anything I say can be rebuked by someone with more knowledge of that book.

But inherent in being a Christian is that you are to follow the words and teaching of Christ.  I’m correct in that no?

Whether I believe in a literal Christ is irrelevant.  I do know that the words attributed to him are powerful and are at least worthy of reflection.

Some things Jeaus did not say anything about:

  • Homosexuality
  • Transgender
  • Building walls
  • Political systems/economic systems

Some things he did say which I like:

  • “A new command I give you:  Love one another.  As I have loved you, so you must love one another.”
  • “For what shall it profit a man, if he gain the whole world, and suffer the loss of his soul?”
  • “But I say to you, Love your enemies and pray fo those who persecute you…for he makes his sun rise on the evil and on the good, and sends rain on the just and on the unjust.
  • “Let the one among you who is without sin be the first to cast a stone.”
  • “All the commandments…are summed up in this single command:  You must love your neighbor as yourself.”
  • “If you want to be perfect, go, sell your possessions and give to the poor…”
  • “Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the earth.”
  • “Blessed are the merciful, for they will be shown mercy.”
  • “I tell you the truth, it is hard for a rich man to enter the kingdom of heaven…”
  • “It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick…”
  • “For everyone who exalts himself will be humbled, and everyone who humbles himself will be exalted.”
  • “And unto him that smiteth thee on the one cheek offer also the other…”

And so on.

I get confused by who says they believe in Christ’s words and who acts on them in this country.  I don’t think it has to do with who says they are religious or not.

What’s done is done.  It’s how we decide to move forward that matters.  We can argue about this and that and the other.

But if you are calling yourself something, a Christian, how do you feel about some of the words above?  And the many others?

Don’t tell me.  Reflect on it maybe.  I should.  We all should reflect, and not just in a religious manner necessarily.

But especially if you are following something, someone, in your heart, do you really believe the words?  And if you do, are you acting like it?  And if you’re not, should you be calling yourself what you do?

The person we’ve elected behaves in a way that is in conflict with the words above.

How can we reconcile it?  How can you?

It doesn’t matter what I think or what anyone else thinks.  It’s what you think and what you really feel and believe in that matter.

It’s not too late.  It’ll never be to late.  Act on what you believe in, if you really believe it.

Love thy neighbor.  No qualifications or amendments on which neigbors, what they look like or act like or believe in.   I’m not the one who said it, but I believe it.

I’ll be waiting for you, if you want to talk about it.  If you change your mind.  No judgements.  There’s room for you over here still.☮

1 thought on “#34 – Judge not…”

  1. Thought filled words. It’s worth all of us discussing and pondering. There is so much more to come that will challenge the heart and one’s resolve to be kind. But it’s worth the effort. That is not to say that one doesn’t continue to voice concerns, and express their disagreement…..peacefully and constructively. Thank you for sharing and for opening minds to dialogue.

Leave a Reply

