#36 – Music Videos will Save the World

NBD but I’ve been out of commission for the past week++, or at least more out of commission than usual.  It was a week ago Friday at work and I started to feel super sick – flu like stuff with a cough and sneezing and headache.  (Side note – I average like one sneeze a month.  In the past week I’ve double and tripled my usual sneeze output.  I’m feeling much better, so to compensate I don’t plan on sneezing until sometime in mid-2019).

Whatever the sickness was it lingered and lingered.  I’d go to work and get some stuff done and then come home and sleep.  A couple days I stayed home.  One day I got all the way to work, pulled into my parking spot, and coughed so hard I vomited into my lap.  True story and super gross.  I didn’t know what to do but I needed to get a little bit of work done.  So I drove to Wal-Mart, bought a pair of pants and wore them out, and chucked my puke spotted pants into the garbage.  I told the lady at the place where you try on the clothes that I had spilled coffee on my pants on the way to work.  I’m not sure if she bought it or not.  I drove back to work with my new pants on, worked for a bit, and called it a day.

So I slept a lot, but even me, who loves to sleep, and loves to sleep because I’m tired but also loves naps and loves to sleep to avoid I could only sleep so much.

And I’m sure in a perfect world none of us would work and we’d all love to stay home and indulge in our hobbies and spend time with friends and live the highlife.

But have you ever had a few days off when you had nothing to do?  Have you seen the state of daytime TV these days?  It’s an abyss, even in these days of technology and Netflix and cable and etc.  There’s not a lot out there after awhile.

I watched a few shows on Netflix.  One was this, ‘Black Mirror’ which is now may new favorite show of all time.  It’s sort of a modern Twilight Zone for the technology age.  I’m not really doing it justice, and it’s more for adults.  I’ll warn you that if you have any interest the first episode is really good like all of them are, but the subject manner is a bit disturbing.  If you can make it through that one the rest are totally worth watching.  I love this show.  (I don’t think this trailer really does it justic either, but it’s on Netflix and you should watch it.)

 

I also watched a WWII documentary on the Netflix which was depressing as hell.  (I mean, I don’t think just typing numbers do enough justice to how terrible WWII was.  Upwards of 80 million++

wwii-deaths
Check out China.  Bet you didn’t know about that number.  Japan absolutely destroyed them.  It’s not really talked about enough.

people died as a result of that conflict.  Try and wrap your head around that number.  I also learned that we should probably ease up on the French bashing when it comes to how we perceive them as “giving up” or “surrendering.”  It’s not really fair to what actually happened.)

So I kind of ran out of things to do or to watch after a while.  In addition to Netflix I love love YouTube.  I love the little channels that people have created.  I love that just like other search engines you can put almost anything into the search bar and a video of your search will pop up.  It’s full of crap and good info and garbage just like the rest of the internet.

I suppose there are other places you can find them, but there are music videos all over YouTube.  I’m not sure which was the first one I popped into the search function, but once I watched a few I was hooked.  I watched great chunks of videos on YouTube as the week progressed.

Do you even remember MTV?  I think it’s still around.  Does anyone even watch it anymore?  Unless they’ve changed the format recently I don’t think they’ve played a music video in 20 years.   They should change the name of the channel, I think.

It doesn’t really matter in this day and age, though, with anything and everything you could ever want to watch a mere search away.

I remember, though, when MTV came out, or at least when we got cable TV and started watching it.  There were like 50(!) channels.  There was all kinds of things that I’m not sure I should have been watching (boobies!  violence! bad words!) but we watched it all anyway.  I recall that our 1st cable box had still had a dial in it that you actually had to get up off of the couch to change. But we didn’t care.  It was worth it to get up and flip around until we found some crap or other to watch.

There was no looking back after that, as we got remote controls (the first on I remember was long and bulky and had these rounded silver buttons that stuck up out of the controller) and as the channels increased.

I don’t think I stopped watching MTV until well after I was married.  Even when they started suplimenting videos with original programming I watched.  (I loved early seasons of ‘The Real World.’  I think my favorite season was the one with Pedro and Puck and all that craziness.  It was a hell of a thing when Pedro died.  We also liked the underrated ‘Road Rules.’  That one woman, Kit Hoover who is an anchor on the now Billy Bush-less ‘Access Hollywood,” was on the first season.  And remind me sometime to tell you the story of when I met Allison from that same season in a bar in NYC on New Years Eve in 1996 or so.)

But it was always the videos, and early on we watched MTV all of the time.  I remember especially the summer of ’84 or ’85, when I was going into junior high.  My sisters were young and my cousin Shorty (that’s just what I call her.  It’s not her actual name.  It’s another story on how I started calling her Shorty.  There’s a lot of things in the story that’s I’d have to leave out, though, so I don’t know if I’d tell it.  I didn’t call her Shorty back then.  I’ve called her Shorty for only about 8 years or so)  sort of baby sat them while my brother and I ran wild.  It was that summer especially that I remember watching MTV like every single day.  We’d sit and watch.  We’d do something else and leave it on.  MTV was the soundtrack of that summer, and the videos from the early days of that channel have stuck with me.

I like most kinds of music.  My musical tastes are mostly uninformed.  It’s usually hear music, like or don’t like music.  I’ll admit that country music is not for me, and when I hear country music it kind of makes me want to claw at my ears until the music ends or I go deaf.  It doesn’t mean that country music is bad or if you listen to country music that’s a bad thing.  It’s me, not them, but their twangy voices sometimes makes me wish music was not invented in the first place.

But the past little while, while I was checking out some of the music videos on the YouTube, I found myself looking back to vids from those early days.  I think I have a prejudgment of pop music videos in this day and age, that they are all just women shaking their booty’s while a dude sings about their booty’s, but I don’t really know if that’s the case and it’s probably not fair to say that.  There are probably channels I do not know about that show videos.  I know there is VEVO, an online video channel that has a big presence on YouTube.  So there may be all kinds of cool stuff out there that I do not know about.

I just feel like, rightly or wrongly, that when they started out, the music videos usually tried at some kind of story.  Some of the effects or production values were really awful, but as I watched them the nostalgia factor was off the charts, and the more I watched the more I wanted to watch until hours would go by and I’d done nothing but watch videos.  I forgot about what ailed me for awhile, and I discovered a new way to procrastinate and cure my boredom.

Here are some of them I watched.  There’s no real rhyme or reason to them.  I’ll tell you though, if you have nothing else to do, though, watching a few videos definitely beats staring at the wall.

I could go on but I won’t.  You should check some out.

 

 

 

One thought on “#36 – Music Videos will Save the World

  1. Fun blog! I watched some of the videos too – really liked “Walk Like an Egyptian”. Who is Shorty?

Leave a Reply

