#40 – Random9, or Happy Blog-i-versary!!

And now, another in the continuing series, I present Random9, or more random thoughts.

Happy Blog-i-versary to me!

I don’t think because this is my 40th post that it means it is an anniversary.  Anniversaries are more date driven.  Still, I’ll call it whatever I want.

You try writing 40 (very mildly) interesting blogs and see what you come up with.  It’s not exactly easy, smarty.

So I have thoughts, and they are in fact random…

317.  We get mail in our mailbox from our mailman.  But if the mailman is not male then we should call her a mailwoman.  Could we call her a femailwoman?  Or put place the letters and etc. into the femailbox?  Why are there two words spelled differently that mean different things that sound the same?  It doesn’t seem like there should nor needs to be.  I’ve taken to calling it post.  I’ll ask my wife if she’s gotten “the post” yet and she’ll have no idea what I’m talking about.  It’ll catch on.

318.  My daughter has informed me on more than one occasion that my slang is old and that in general no one uses it anymore.  They use terms like fleek and lit, among others.  Her friends and her call each other bro a lot, and while bro is not exactly new the use it excessively.  Sometimes if she has been talking with her friends and then to me, she’ll call me bro for awhile.  I guess I understand how slang becomes obsolete.  I recall when I was really young and my parents would use words like groovy or gas (as in, that was a gas!) and I would roll my eyes.  But whatever my daughter tells me, I will never stop trying to keep or bring back:  Dope, Fly, Awesome, Super, Cool, Man (as in, that’s cool, man, take it easy.)  Missy Elliot, though, will be Super Fly no matter the era…

319.  A stick is usually something that comes from a branch on a tree.  It can sometimes come to a point, and the stick can stick into the ground.  But a stick that is stuck in the ground, or any other kind of stick cannot be described as sticky.  It can be sharp or pointy, though.  If you were to take a sharp pointy stick and stick it into the right kind of tree you could make the stick sticky depending on what comes out of that tree.  Then, I suppose, it would be a sticky stick.  But a stick standing alone cannot be sticky.

320.  Do people still say ‘upset the apple cart?‘  Was the apple once the measure of calm and evenhandedness?

321.  Do people try and hitchhike any more?  It seems like it would be a dangerous thing to do.  I’m getting older, but I’m not so old that I do not remember a time when there were hitchhikers out on most every major road.  The closest I come to hitchhiking is to use Uber, which honestly is just barely monitored, loosely organized hitchhiking.  Let me know if you’ve seen a hitchhiker in the past year or so, or if you see one in the future.

322.  Keeping your nose to the grindstone sounds painful and there has to be a better saying for working hard and steadily.  Sometimes at work we say we’re going balls out or balls to the wall but I’m not sure that’s much better.

323.  They say that the state of Minnesota is the Land of 10,000 Lakes – it says it right on their license plate.  That seems like a lot of lakes, and I wonder if that number of lakes is verifiable.  And if it has been, when was the last time it was?  I think they should have a recount – a flooded backyard after a heavy rain should not get to count.

324.  In the NBA professional basketball league, the Los Angeles Lakers have always been one of the marquee franchises.  Can you guess where they were originally located before they moved to LA?

thWEBRFOMF
A Minnesota Laker, naturally

325.  I guess it’s no big deal, but when a professional sports team moves from one city to another I think it’s only fair that they leave the name in the city they left.  The Cleveland Browns (who are named after a person and not a color) for example, moved to Baltimore and became the Ravens.  The Browns did not exist for a few years until they came back as the Cleveland Browns, still not named after the color.

326.  The Utah Jazz were originally from New Orleans, which now has a team called the Pelicans.  The Pelicans came from Charlotte when the Charlotte Hornets moved to New Orleans.  At first they were called the New Orleans Hornets and Charlotte did not have a team.  A few years later Charlotte obtained a new team and they were named the Bobcats.  Then New Orleans decided to change their name to the Pelicans and the Bobcats became the Hornets, and the Charlotte Hornets were reborn.thNZQIUSKJ

327.  I wonder if there are any Pelicans in Utah?

328.  I feel like the kids today don’t really know their sports franchise history.  I won’t go through all of them, but here are a few tidbits (all off the top of my head because of the random junk stored therein):

  • There was a baseball team in Montreal in Canada called the Expos, short for Expostitions.  They moved to Washington and became the Nationals.

    thWYOBMBSL
    Please buy me a hat with this logo.  It’s super dope.
  • There used to be two versions of a team in Washington prior to the Nationals – both named the Washington Senators.  I do not recall and do not feel like looking up where the 1st one went but I know the second version moved to Texas and became the Texas Rangers.
  • The Seattle Mariners are a baseball team out of Seattle, Washington.  They were an expansion team that joined the American League in 1977.  Before that, though, Seattle had a team in 1969 called the Pilots.  They went bankrupt after that one season and were bought by Bud Selig and moved to Milwaukee and became the 2nd version of the Milwaukee Brewers.
  • The Milwaukee Brewers were a National League baseball team for one season, in 1901.
  • The St. Louis Browns played in the American League until they moved to Baltimore and became the Baltimore Orioles.

    thGZJ1480Y
    Eddie Gaedel, the most famous St. Louis Browns MLB player, Aug 19, 1951.
  • The Braves came to Atlanta via Milwaukee, who stole them from Boston.
  • The Oakland A’s, short for Athletics, stopped in Kansas City for a few years after starting in Philadelphia for many decades.
  • The Arizona Cardinals of the NFL football were originally from St. Louis, if by originally you mean from the south side of Chicago.  I wonder if there are any Chicago Cardinal fans left?

329.  Babe Ruth played for 3 baseball teams, and hit his last major league home run for the Boston Braves.

Moving on…

330.  This post is going to Hell in a Handbasket, whatever that means…

331.  I don’t get the whole thing with apples.  The applecart as I mentioned above.  Or if you are trying to show someone up, you may say sarcastically, How do you like them Apples?  Or when you need to compare like things, you need to compare Apples to Apples, even though there are a ton of different types, sizes, colors, tastes….but then again, Matt Damon knows all…

332.  I genuinely would like to know why Hispanic or Hispanic-American (is Hispanic-American a thing) use Jesus as a name but most other ethnicities in the Americans do not?

thLNNUQJ7I
A long lost Cub…

333.  In the word sword, is the ‘w’ silent?  How do you say sword?

334.  I want to take credit for the below but I cannot.  I have a friend at work.  He’ll be 67 this year and he has a lot of sayings which he uses over and over, but which never seem to get old:

  • If a timeline is short or if material is not available, then it is Tighter than a Bull’s ass in Fly Season.
  • If one is busy or busier at work or so busy they don’t have time to even take a break they are Busier than a One-Legged Man in an Ass-Kicking Contest.
  • And if you have doubt or are feeling apprehensive about something then you are More Nervous than a Whore in Church.

335.  There was a guy in the news recently.  He was on the run here in Wisconsin for stealing a bunch of guns and making a bunch of threats to schools and churches and the like.  He had mailed what they were calling a ‘manifesto’ to the President.  I realized that I’ve only ever heard manifesto in a negative connotation.  I wonder, is the definition of manifesto a negative?  Or was the Declaration of Independence considered a manifesto?  If I write a 1000 page screed about the virtues of rainbows and kittens and post it to the President is that a manifesto, and will I get in trouble for it?

thWOAFLN72.jpg
Didn’t he have a manifesto?

336.  I’ve noticed animals.  Take squirrels, for example.  I’m sure there are different kinds, but when I look in the yard they all seem the same.  It’s as if there is one breed of squirrel.  Same for raccoons, or opossums.  There are a lot of animals that seem like there are only one of them.  Then you have your dogs and cats and birds and even people and they come in all different shapes, sizes and colors.  It seems to me that some species got the short end of the stick, at least interest-wise.  Though I don’t know if there needs to be more than one breed of platypus, for example.

tumblr_lst8c9mqn81qlms3vo1_500[1]
More than one = platypuses or platypi??

337.  So I’m pretty sure I would eat at McDonalds more often if they brought back all the old characters and had regular commercials for them.  I mean, let’s face it, McDonalds kind of sucks but we all still go, some more than others, and it will do in a pinch.  I think I’d rank them like this:

  • The HamburglerthVPREUEND
  • Grimace

thPS4RNCFTMayor McCheesethJJFDIS9D

  • The Fry Kids (We called them the Fry Guys)thCKO2510R
  • Other miscellaneous….
  • Ronald McDonald.  Honestly.  The worst, and the stuff of nightmares.  Wasn’t John Wayne Gacy the original Ronald McDonald?
    th75R24GUW
    Ronald McGacy?

    thQC200YU3
    John Wayne McDonald?

 

 

 

 

 

The Random bucket is now empty.  I don’t know, but I know that I don’t know, and that something, right?

 

 

2 thoughts on “#40 – Random9, or Happy Blog-i-versary!!”

  1. One of the better ones. My favorite character is the Hamburglar. All lakes in Minnesota have leeches. Weren’t the Cubs once the Bears?

  2. Loved the movie clips!

    #323 – Minnesota has 11,842 lakes of 10 acres or more and they must be “named” lakes.. If all basins over 2.5 acres were counted, Minnesota would have 21,871 lakes. Wisconsin counts them even without a name and has no size limit. Wisconsin only has about 6,000 named lakes, even including those under ten acres. If Minnesota counted all lakes down to four acres without names, it is likely there would be over 20,000.
    #324 – Minnesota, right?
    #328 – impressive memory!
    #335- manifesto is not necessarily negative – here’s what Webster says – “a written statement declaring publicly the intentions, motives, or views of its issuer Example: The group’s manifesto focused on helping the poor and stopping violence.”
    #336 – OP has two kinds of squirrels and someone just posted their research on how they (the squirrels) divide themselves up geographically in OP by type – weird ain’t it?

Leave a Reply

